Yoga Has Changed My Life: How My Journey Began

Warrior 2
by Tussanee Jewelry Photography

My yoga journey began two and a half years ago when I was seeking relief for my back pain. And two years of physical therapy didn’t help.  At the time, I didn’t know what to expect and thought yoga was simply about stretching and a way to destress. Little did I know about the many sweeping benefits of yoga and the different types of the Hindu spiritual, mental and physical practice. I joined YogaWorks in El Segundo in 2012. The first class I took was the YogaWorks (1/2) class which entailed a lot of Sun Salutation A.  I thought it was a bit hard because I wasn’t used to doing so many chaturangas and felt intimidated especially at the end when everyone in class was doing inversions. I knew nothing about doing any head stands or hand stands. So I decided to explore and took an Iyengar class which featured a lot of props. I thought that was strange — hanging up side down by two straps, using chairs but not really sitting in them and using blankets but not for their intended purpose. And being up side down felt a bit scary because I had never seen the world from that perspective and felt my equilibrium was off. The Iyengar teacher was strict and intimidating. I was scared of her. Besides, I didn’t sweat at all in the class. In fact, it was down right freezing. I had to wear a sweat shirt and socks to take her class because the room temperature felt like below 70 degrees, which I never understood. Shouldn’t the temperature in a yoga studio be warm to increase flexibility and avoid from getting hurt?  That was when I decided to explore another type of yoga class and came upon Vinyasa Flow (2/3) taught by my beloved teacher Angela Kukhahn. That’s when I fell in love with yoga. Stay tuned for my next post about how I became head over heels and turned into a yoga addict.

Leave a comment